Panther Activities Council Receives National Recognition

Posted On March 16, 2017
Categories 2017 Fall

The Newton campus Panther Activities Council received the 2017 Boyd Jones National Programming Organization of the Year award at the Association for the Promotion of Campus Activities (APCA) National Conference. The APCA National Conference was held in Orlando, Florida, from March 8-12, 2017. This conference had an attendance of over 500 delegates, with at least 150 institutions represented. Karla Arteaga Ascencio, council president, and Jenai Branford, council vice president, accepted the award on behalf of the organization on March 11, 2017, at the APCA annual awards dinner. The council attended the national conference and participated in various educational workshops, showcases and additional networking sessions.

The Panther Activities Council is the official programming board for the Georgia State University Perimeter College student body. The members of the council are appointed officers who plan and produce social, educational and health-related programs for the student body. The Newton campus Panther Activities Council is a diverse group of student leaders who work diligently to provide programs and events unique to the needs of the Newton student population. The Newton PAC members include: Karla Arteaga Ascencio (president), Jenai Branford (vice president), Catherine Beebe (Arts & Culture Director), Leah Poyotte (Traditions Director), T. Dawnette Avery-Mwape (Wellness & Service Director), Russiana Collins (Entertainment Director), and Ty Randall (Marketing & Assessment director). Dr. LeKeisha D. Jackson serves as the Newton campus PAC advisor.

The mission of the APCA is to promote campus engagement through quality educational experiences, affordable entertainment and community service initiatives. The Boyd Jones Programming Organization of the Year Award recognizes the top programming board across the 50 states who exemplify a clear mission statement with examples of how the mission is fulfilled. Additional criteria included submission of organizational goals clearly defined by a plan of action, summary of campus events, methods of publicity and evaluation and collaboration among student groups and or departments.